1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NEWB needs advice...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by shatterd, Feb 24, 2008.

1. shatterd

shatterd

Feb 24, 2008
    I am a beginner/intermediate guitar player. I started late at age 37 and have about 2 years in the instrument. I currently own a Line 6 Spider Valve 2x12 combo amp and a Ibanez RG 2570 Prestige guitar. I've taken a few lessons from private teachers and also have been working with the Metal Method guitar course by Doug Marks.

I've been thinking about trying to learn how to play bass. I have no idea where to start.

I guess the first thing I need to do is buy a bass and amp.

Which bass should I start with? Should I get a 4, 5 or 6 string bass?

I don't want a cheap bass. I'd like to get something that I can grow into. That said, I don't want to spend a mint. Maybe 500 to 800 bucks???

I was thinking about getting a Line 6 Lowdown amp. I figured that would be a great place to start since I already use their guitar amps and like them.

I was also thinking about ordering some lessons on DVD from musiciansfriend.

My favorite music is Dream Theater and progressive rock/metal/fusion/alternative. Really love John Myung!!!! ....and Geddy Lee.

Please advise! Thanks in advance!!

2. warwick.hoy

warwick.hoy

Aug 20, 2006
    Spokane, WA.
    Beta Tester: Source Audio.
    5 to 8 bills will get you some decent gear. My first inclination is to tell you to buy a Lakland Skyline, but that would be me trying to superimpose my wants onto you.

The best advice I can give you is get out there try as many basses and amps as you can and go with what you like. Your fingers and ears will not lie to you.

3. DanielleMuscato

DanielleMuscato

Jun 19, 2004
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Endorsing Artist, Schroeder Cabinets