Newb question - please explain "clipping"

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Aug 18, 2005.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Okay, I've only been playing about five years and I played an 80 watt Peavey TKO combo the entire time. There was no "clip" or "overload" lights or anything like that. I played somebody else head & cab a couple of times and it had a "clip" light - one time it went fine, the other time I had the clip light coming on constantly - I really don't understand what that is. I always believed that I'd figure all that out when the time came - but I recently started playing a Trace Elliot head that has an "overload" light (I'm thinking that's the same as "clip"?) So…. What is that? Is the fact that I have not seen the light come on no matter how I set the controls on the amp a good thing, or does it maybe indicate that the light doesn't work? Any info is appreciated.
  2. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    Clipping is what happens when an amplifier tries to put out more voltage than its power supply will allow. This can happen in the power amp, or in the pre-amp, or in any of the various amplifying stages therein, and it transforms a clean undistorted signal into a rough, compressed and distorted one. A clip indicator could be revealing a clipped signal just about anywhere in the amp, it all depends on where the designer chose to put it. Overload is usually a different term for the same thing, although it might also indicate excess amperage draw. In most cases bass players will find clipping to be undesireable, but sometimes not, and guitar players can't live without it. Distortion pedals are devices that intentionally cause clipping.