Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

newb? swr wm10 farting

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jdean, Nov 4, 2005.

1. jdean

jdean

Nov 4, 2005
    sf bay
    Hi All,
    This is my first post, I've been a lurker for about a week. I just started playing bass & guitar for my church.

I hope someone can chime in here:

The swr wm10 that we have is distorting (more like a fart, at low notes) at vol. setting 12:00 and above, with the bass/mid/treb at 3:00/12/12 (aural @12:00). My bass has active pup and have the preamp at flat. I'm finding myself rolling back the bass on the eq, just to get the volume up past 12:00.

I've replace the 9v on the bass. Changed strings and setup.

I thought it might be a bad speaker/coils, so I checked by gently pushing down on the cone.

I was also thinking of getting an extra cab to get more vol.

Is this normal for this amp/combo? Any swr wm10 users out there with the same experience? Any advice?

I'm now also looking to upgrade to a head/cab combo, but I want to be able to use the wm10 for practice sessions.

Thanks!

2. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    farting or crackling? high volumes or low also?

if at low volumes too and crackling, maybe you are overloading the input with too much voltage?

if farting and only at high volumes turn your bass control down (less bass) and connect another cab. (i.e. you are requesting more bass than it can handle)

if farting at low volumes, your amp electronics may be blown.

I had a wm10with an extension 10, loved it at the time, never ran an active through it though...

3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego