1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newb to Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dubn, Jul 2, 2012.

1. Dubn

Dubn

Jul 2, 2012
    Ok, not a complete newb, but i am new to these forums and relativly new to bass. I have played before but not quite as seriously as i am starting now.

That being said, i am very sorry if this is in the wrong place.

I have a few questions: recently i picked a Squire Jaguar VM. so far i love it, been a ton of fun picking back up a bass and starting to play again. But id like to add some things to make it a bit more "mine" if that makes sense. So far i grabbed a bridge cover but thats it.
    [​IMG]

Curious if there are any suggestions on new Pick-ups, just hardware in general.

I would love to pick a new neck, the original one is nice but id like something that just look a bit better and very open to suggestions on the neck and pick up. Like i said im new and am very unsure of brands, sizes, Specs.

Any suggestions on anything would be highly appreciated. I am used to Car forums so i am expecting a bit of hate:bag:

Thanks guys!

2. Those Squier VMs are great instruments. Personally, I love the neck on them, I would just get it set up to preference. As for upgrades, maybe a BA bridge and shielding the control cavity?

If you're just picking a bass back up, you should leave it as is until you know what you really want to change. IMO, of course.

3. TheDude007

TheDude007

May 18, 2010
    Kansas City
    First, welcome back to the low end!