1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Newb

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Divinations, Apr 1, 2013.

1. Divinations

Divinations

Apr 1, 2013
    New Zealand
    Hey guys, I've used this site a lot in the past for all kinds of advice but just joined up, Im quite new to bass, but have been lucky to end up in a band with some awesome musicians.

My question is around amps. I currently use a Galien Krueger 700RB into a GK 2x10 200w and a GK 1x12 400w.

This is an awesome amp, my only trouble is our drummer is LOUD. Real loud.

Im looking for some more volume, when I was sold this amp I was told it was 700w, turns out its 480 (I think). What should I do? upgrade my head, or my cabs?

If Im going to upgrade my head I have been looking at these 2
    http://www.rockshop.co.nz/shop/bass/gk-mb800-ultra-light-head.html
    http://www.rockshop.co.nz/shop/bass...0-watts-at-4-ohms-or-600-watts-at-8-ohms.html

I can also get my hands on a used SVT-4 Pro for a pretty good price but thats a similar wattage to what I have now.

What do you guys think? I understand about hooking up bass cabs, ohms etc, but I get a bit confused when hooking up more than 1 and its frustrating!

If I go with the higher power heads, Im guessing my current cabs wont be up to the task, what do you suggest I go for configuration/watts/ohms wise?

Sorry its so long but thanks in advance for any help

2. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

May 20, 2008
    A pair of the gk neo 212 cabs ought to do the trick. If it doesn't, they're just too damn loud.

3. Divinations

Divinations

Apr 1, 2013
    New Zealand
    That woud give me a decent kick in the volume department?

4. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

May 20, 2008