!!Newbie Alert!! Are Fender Jazz Basses any good?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gazzabom, May 13, 2001.

1. gazzabom

gazzabom Guest

Apr 9, 2001
    Im a complete newbie when it comes to buying a new bass. I've had the same crappy one for over a year now and I really want a new one. I then came across the Fender Jazz and Ive seen quite a few people talk about it. So could someone tell me straight is it worth buying. And the bass I have now is just anti-slappable. Is it any good for slapping? So could someone give me the lowdown.

Thanks in advance for anything.

Mar 3, 2001
    Ada, Ok
    I am not sure exactly what series you are talking about (i.e. American Standard, Mexican,etc.) But I have An American Standard J-Bass that is absolutely worth the money. You didn't mention what kind of music you play but the j-bass is better for funk, blues and less hard edged rock. It has a little bit too much growl for hard rock like AC/DC but it is fine for Blues, Punk and everything else. As far as slapping goes, that is pretty much all amp determined. If you have ever heard any primus then you know what i'm talking about. He's running an Ampeg svt-4 pro that has like 1000 watts and you can not only hear but FEEL those slapped notes. But the jazz bass is good to slap and pop on (that is my main style of music) and it sounds great through my SWR Bass 350 amp and Goliath 3 cab.
  3. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    Primus doesn't use an SVT-4 Pro.

Jazz basses have the 'classic' slap sound, and will sound great, assuming your technique is any good. Its all in the technique, so you may find the Jazz is
    'unslappable' just because you have terrible technique.
  4. NeoTrotskyist

Apr 2, 2001
    i've got a standard jazz bass. i use it for everything i play because it's the only bass i own. I play metal, rock, jazz, blues, the works. It works very well in my opinion. and it's good for slap.