1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

(Newbie Alert) Got a Markbass setup...is it too much?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by basschrs, Sep 8, 2008.

1. Hello all. I am new to these parts and have been playing bass for around 10 years. Mostly I have played in small churches or outings that didn't require much amperage from me, so my BA 115 HPT Ampeg combo was just fine. Recently I joined a rock band (2 guitars, 1 drum, and now me) that does some bars and some medium sized gigs, so I figured I needed more juice from my amp, as my amp was at full master vol and almost full gain just for practice with these guys...not a healthy place to be. I went to GC and asked for a bigger setup, but lighter as I didn't like the 86 lbs of my Ampeg. They directed me to a Markbass F1 and the Markbass 151HR cab. The setup blew my head off, so I bought it right then and there. Now I am concerned, as my cab is SO big and bold, that I don't want to kill all other instruments in a bar setting (where most of our shows will probably be for a while). I can't stand being told to turn down my amp :D I tried the 4x10 cab that Markbass has, but with the F1 it didn't have the same shake my eyeballz low end that the 15" had, which is the sound that I really like. So, I need some opinions as to whether I went too big on my rig? And if so, what suggestions do you have for a newbile amp and cab player (this is my 1st head and cab, always had combo before this)

BTW, I play a Schecter Studio 5 string, another reason I went with the 15" is because I want everyone's bones to rattle on the low B :bassist:

2. 4-string

4-string

Jul 23, 2006
    Norway
    Only 1 drum? That should prevent many volume issues. :)

Don't worry, just turn the volume down if needed. That extra juice is nice, before you know it you might get to use it.