Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie Bass Guitar

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by brand, Jun 1, 2005.

1. brand

brand Guest

Jun 1, 2005
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I'm a complete newbie to all forms of music and have decided that I would like to take up bass guitar since I was asked to join a rock/punk band. Since then I have been looking at a wide range of basses and am finding all the technical language very daunting.

I must admit that I was quite surprised at the prices that basses are sold for and only have around £250 - £300 to spend on an amp, bass and cable. So I decided to ask some people with more experience on what bass I should get. I have seen a Cort Action Bass and a Tanglewood Rebel Bass for around £200 with a 30w amp and a cable and have seen mixed reviews on these basses; some saying that the Cort is a good guitar and others saying its "rubbish".

Could you give me some advice on which guitar I should get? Or any other guitars that would be a better choice for around that price range (£250 - £300)?

Thanks Guys.

2. I started out with a Westfield P-Bass Clone and a Stagg 20W combo. I haggled that, a cable, a tuner and a gig bag down to under £200. Haggling is the way man.

The amp won't handle a band situation though (I tried). I use my 80W Peavey for band practise, which handles the sound levels fine (we don't play stupidly loud, as quiet as the drummer can do, which isn't really that quiet. My guitarists have a Marshall 80W Valvestate and a Laney 65W Tubefusion). In fact, it's our PA for the singer that is struggling (110W apparently).