newbie bass player

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jonathan_matos5, Mar 7, 2006.

1. im a newbie
    i just got a washburn ab 10 with a natural finish
    what do you guys think of it as a bass and does any body have any tips for a starting player such as myself
  2. Red701

Aug 5, 2005
    well im self tought so heres the advice i can give you: i learned by playing songs i liked. however, dont try and get good on songs like punk songs where you only play the roots of the chords. instead try and learn some complex stuff that will have you all over the fret board. Ska and regge is usually good for that kinda thing. and contemporary stuff like vic wooten. my personal favorite genre is acoustic-surf-chill kinda stuff like jack johnson, matt costa, DMB, guster, that kinda thing. they have some pretty nice basslines too that arent too repetative. but like i said, be sure to play what you like. you can only stay interested if you playing things you enjoy
  3. I'd think about getting some lessons to get you started. Can't hurt. Learning to play by ear is a good thing too.
  4. bassksun

bassksun Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2004
    Las Vegas,NV
    +1 On the above posts. Don't forget to try and just make something up. Use your imagination.
  5. lamborghini98

lamborghini98 The Aristocrats

May 1, 2005
    NYC; Portland, OR
    +1 on getting lessons. Starting out with good technique, though difficult, absolutely pays off in the long run. I hate fixing some of the mistakes I made when I started playing... like sweeping downwards when playing consecutive strings :scowl: .
    My first bass was a Washburn. It had the best tone of all the basses I played, but was a little more pricey.

Welcome to the forums, and good luck with your new rig.
  6. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    I'm sorry, we bassists aren't accepting any new members right now. Please sell your bass and learn to play drums or some crap like that.

7. Bo_H