1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

newbie bass shopping

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dude_, Jun 9, 2007.

1. dude_

dude_

Jun 9, 2007
    Hello Fellas,

This summer im going to take some bass lessons to learn how to play. I have no previous experience on basses or guitars so i would be grateful if you suggest me some basses and amplifiers...

i was thinking about this http://www.thomann.de/gr/fender_mex_stdpbass_white.htm

Thanks in advance :bassist:

EDIT: i thinking about spending around 600-650 E for bass and ampfilier

2. JackWhite

JackWhite

Apr 2, 2007
    Vienna
    in my opinion the fender mex p is a nice choice.
    fender is a great way to start and the mexicans today almost have the same quality like the american one's - if not better! (someone please correct me if im wrong) - at least its like this with the fender jazz basses.

the jazz bass is very versatile but the p-bass gives u this nice punchy sound. listen to some motown stuff (james jamerson, stevie wonder, al green, jackson 5, marvin gaye, the funk brothers - just check out youtube) stuff like that. the p-bass was used exclusively by james jamerson, if u ask me, he's the master of that p-bass-guitar.

amp-wise u will have to ask the other tb-ers. i dont know too much about it.

have fun playing the bass - and great idea to get a teacher in the beginning ;)

ps: here i got something for you. james jamerson playing his p-bass ;)

3. Alexander

Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA