1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie changed strings, now can't tune.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by strummer21, Feb 25, 2008.

1. Total noob here. I just replaced my strings on my first used bass (Squier P Bass Special) with standard Fender Strings and they don't sound great (do they break in and get better?) and even worse, I can't seem to tune them right with my tuner. I'm too new to tune it by ear, but I can tell it's off. I'm using a Matrix Sr-1000 tuner (also used) and now my E and A strings aren't registering right and the needle never stops jumping around. The D an G strings are are tuning correct, but sound out of tune when I play the same notes as I used to play with my old strings tuned up. The old strings, while totally thrashed, sounded decent and now the new strings don't have that thump and slight distortion that I like. Does this sound like intonation or bridge issues, pickups? One last thought, is it possible my Tuner is broken?Thanks for any help.

2. coastward_kid

coastward_kid

Dec 8, 2007
    Is it possible that you switched string guages? That might effect yuor intonation. Do the notes sound more out of tune (relatively) as you go up the neck?

Fender has more than a few different sets of strings for bass. If you liked the old sound, check out the specs on your bass at squierguitars.com and pick up the stock ones.

It's also possible you don't like the brightness that is had with very fresh strings. They will mellow out consistently over time.

3. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

Feb 20, 2008
    Madison, WI
    Did you stretch out the strings when you put them on? if you don't they won't hold tune until they break in.

4. Lalabadie

Lalabadie Guest

Jan 11, 2007