Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

NEWBIE: Have Bass, Need Bow

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by bstogsdill, Feb 25, 2006.

1. bstogsdill

bstogsdill

Feb 25, 2006
    HI;

I just got an old upright bass (full size?- over 6ft tall) fixer upper with out a bow.

Questions - Does anybody have an old bow that they are going to throw away or that is broke, or needs to be fixed? I would be glad to pay shipping if I could get something that could be put salvaged in working condition for a beginner.

I dont know anything about german vs french or bow sizes.

Has anybody ever made a tried making a bow with any kind of house hold items? My old fishing pole and 6lb monofiliment line? Any ideas?

Where can I get the cheapest bow at if I go buy one and what would I expect to pay for one? I am not a professional musician- I need only to have fun playing.

Thanks for any help

Brad

2. http://shop1.mailordercentral.com/lemurmusic/products.asp?dept=17 Try buying a fiberglass bow from lemur. They are pretty cheap. It is what I use.

3. Yeah, you can get a fiberglass bow for around $60 on the page McNaire sent you. Since you're playing a full size bass, look into getting a 3/4 size bow (if not a full 4/4). Don't go with the 1/2. As far as French vs German, the difference is in the frog, the black piece you hold. A French grip is an overhand grip, whereas German is underhand. There are great bassists for each style, so don't worry too much about the one you choose. Also, get some rosin for your bow, or you won't be making much sound. I'd recommend Pops or Carlsons rosin. You should be able to find it at www.lemurmusic.com. Have fun.