1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Newbie: Help me make a bassline out of 4 root notes!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by goat, Feb 27, 2003.

1. goat

goat

Jan 18, 2003
    Bournemouth, England
    Hey all,

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to creating basslines, using musical knowledge and such, as I have none.

Basically, my band are doing a cover of Oasis's 'Wonderwall' - ut theres a catch, it's a funky version!

The guitarists know what they're doing so theres some funky chords and a wah involved, so they're sorted, but all I've got are root notes.

Take the verse of example, it's four notes - F# , A , E , and B. Rather than just hit those notes, how can I spice it up a bit?

I know it works with scales and stuff, but could someone explain how I'd do a 'rolling' bassline on a simple song like this? An example for those notes would be good too :)

Thanks a lot.

2. Check this out.

Just try applying the concept to the song you have in mind, using the correct scale mode for that type of music.

It really, really works.

3. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Ok, well, you're gonna wanna know the chords to the song.

As it happens, I do!

It's in F# minor. Here's the verse:

| F#m7 A | Esus4 B7sus4 | (repeated).

As I recall, the last time through that before the break on the original recording (where the drums & cello come in) - the chords are D Esus4 B7sus4 - where it hangs on the B7sus4.

Here's the bridge ("all the roads that lead us there are winding..."):

| D Esus4 | F#m7 |
    | D Esus4 | F#m7 |
    | D Esus4 | A Esus4 D |
    | B7sus4 | B7sus4 |

Here's the chorus ("maybe you're gonna be the one that saves me..."):

| D F#m7 | Esus4 B7sus4 | (repeated)