1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie here. Some questions.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ohioan, Sep 6, 2008.

1. Ohioan

Ohioan

Sep 6, 2008
    Well, not really a newbie. Here's my story:

I played bass when I was in my late teens/early 20s. Mostly rock. I still have the Ampeg SVT I bought used in 1984. I also have an Ovation electric bass. (Pic.) I never really liked the bass... I have short fingers, and it was just too big for me. Plus some of the strings buzz when I hit certain frets. And while the amp head works, the cabinet is in disrepair.

Anyway, I'm now 41 and I haven't touched my bass (or any bass) in close to 20 years. :( Perhaps I'm having a midlife crisis, but I'd like to get back into playing bass. I'd also like to purchase new gear.

For starters, I'd like to get a new bass. As mentioned above, I have short fingers, and trying to play a standard length bass is a bit of a stretch for me (pardon the pun). Does anyone make reasonably-priced basses w/ slightly shorter necks? I'm not looking for anything fancy... just a no-frills, 4-string bass with a slightly shorter neck.

2. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    There's lots of shorter basses out there - do a search for "short scale" basses and you should come up with a lot. I believe Fender makes a Mustang bass that's short scale, as do SX (Hondo), and Epiphone.

Your bass that you have has a unique following - I myself have a Ovation Magnum II that I've modded the hell out of, and quite enjoy. Yours is a Magnum III, which isn't as sought after as the Is and IIs, but you should still be able to get around $300-$500 for it. Perhaps you'd have an easier time with it if it received a setup. A properly adjusted bass shouldn't buzz much, if at all.