Newbie here with basic question...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Surfncoop, Oct 6, 2004.

1. Surfncoop

Oct 6, 2004
    I have just got my first bass (woo hoo!), but i do not have an amp yet. Now I know I probably only need a small practice amp to learn, but i have played a 6 string (casually) for about 7 years and know that I will want to play on something that can make some noise eventually (ie. have fun).

I do have a regular guitar amp. Is it possible to push a bass cab with a guitar amp? Or is it possible to push a bass head through a guitar cab.

So basically my question is, can you mix and match these (amps and speakers), or are bass amps and bass cabs only for bass guitars?

Please forgive my newbieness and help me out. Thanks...
  2. It is more advisable to use a guitar amp and bass cab than the other way around. Guitar speakers are not designed to handle low frequencies and you can blow them. Guitar amps can sound good for bass with some eq tweaking.

I use a Crate GX-15r guitar combo plugged into a Traynor 1x15 cab at home and it sounds fine.
  3. dave_clark69

dave_clark69 Guest

Jan 17, 2003
    You seem to know your stuff for a noobie!
  4. rynkc26

Sep 22, 2004
    if u use a bass head w/ a guitar cab ull blow the cab. if u use the guitar head w/ bass cab it wont have as much power and if u dont have enought power to go through ur cab u can damage the speakers. if u wanna just start out w/ a basic head then get the behringer 300 watt head and a simple cab. that head is the best starter if ur on a budget.
  5. Tim__x

Aug 13, 2002
    Alberta, Canada