Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie here

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by new2bg, Dec 18, 2005.

1. new2bg

new2bg

Dec 18, 2005
    Southwestern OH
    Hi folks, just wanted to introduce myself to the group. Been playing acoustic guitar for many years, but got an early Christmas present of an Ibanez GSR200. Lotsa fun, but I'll be the first to admit I don't know squat about basses, so please be gentle!

Does anyone know what strings come factory stock on this bass!

Thanks,

Newbie in SW OH

2. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    Canada
    Welcome to TB, the best place on the net as far as I am concerned and congrats on a nice early Christmas present!
    Regarding the brand/guage of strings I don't know what Ibanez use but I am guessing they are pretty standard el cheapo factory bass strings that alot of companies use on their basses. I am sure they will be alright for a few months at least......

3. welcome home!
    congrats on the new bass. most companies don't disclose their string brand name publicly, as they buy in super bulk rates, but the guys at Guitar Center can probably tell you.
    :cool:

4. Whitmore

Whitmore

Aug 13, 2005
    I donno if it is the same on all Ibanez basses but my EDB600 came stock with Elixirs on them i am sure exactly what Elixirs but they were Elixirs none the less.

5. BassNoob?

BassNoob?

Sep 18, 2005
    Redding, CT
    I beg to differ... This weekend my friend got his first bass... a used SR300 with EMG's put in by the previous owner (unless the SR300's ship with EMG's). As my friend is talking to the guy, I am listening to them. The guy goes "And the Bartolini's in that baby sound great!!!".

Don't listen to what they say.

6. AxtoOx

AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.