1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

newbie here

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by aelizalde, Sep 11, 2008.

1. aelizalde

aelizalde

Sep 11, 2008
    San Antonio, TX
    hey guys i'm currently looking to move up from my hartke 120w combo. my friend is willing to sell me his hartke 300w 8ohm 4X10. trying to find a good head to run it, so far i've landed on the markbass little mark 2. which runs 500w at 4 ohms, 300w at 8. perfect fit, right?

also, i found this on craigslist:
    http://austin.craigslist.org/msg/828701334.html

the poster posted no information about its power specs but i was intrigued cause it looked vintage. can anyone tell what it is by the pic?

thanks a lot
    any advice would be great, i'm looking to make the best cost-effective choice!

andrew

2. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    Learn how to use the search function. There is so much information available on pretty much any piece of equipment you can think of on this site you'll be reading for days.

That said, the Markbass seems to have a good rep. Most people will probably say it outclasses the cab you're getting by a lot...although I personally have a 410 XL that I like a great deal. I don't know much about older Carvins.

3. aelizalde

aelizalde

Sep 11, 2008
    San Antonio, TX
    cool, thanks for the advice.

i've got a limited budget and am trying to put together a good half stack, so any advice helps. oh and those reviews are pretty good too!

4. kb9wyz

kb9wyz

Sep 8, 2008
    Bloomingdale,IL
    Right. This is going to sound stupid, but no. You do not want an amp that puts out 300W @ 8 Ohms on your cab.