Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie Introduction and a question.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassIan, Apr 27, 2003.

1. BassIan

BassIan Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2003
    Cupertino, California
    Hey TB'ers. My name is Ian. I'm 18, from Victoria, BC, Canada. I've been an on/off guitar player ever since I could pick one up. Bass has become an obsession to me during the last year. I play in a band, and make it my mission to be more than the guitar follower. I've been browsing here for a few months now, and finally decided to make an account. Unline other industries I've been involved in (Mountain Bikes), you guys really seem to eithier know your stuff or know when to shut up and ask if you don't know.

Now, on to my question. I recently bought an Ampeg SVT-350 Head (Yes... I know it's solid-state, but right now I'm on a tight budget, and it sounds damn good anyway) and a '98 SWR Goliath Senior cab. The SVT-350 puts out 350 watts into 4 ohms, while the Goliath is rated for 1000 watts, 4 ohms. During my experimentation today, I discovered that as I increased the volume on the head, I got some nasty distortion. With some playing, I discovered that I was clipping the power amp, and turning on the limiter eliminated the nasty distortion. The limiter really squashes the sound though, I find. Should I work on scrounging up the cash for a more powerful head in the future?

2. BassIan

Apr 27, 2003
    Cupertino, California
    Anyone?

3. BruceWane

BruceWane

Oct 31, 2002
    Houston, TX
    If you're not getting the volume you need from 350 watts, then yes, you'll need a more powerful amplifier. Unfortunately, you'll find that increasing your volume becomes more and more difficult due to some well known audio facts.

Increasing your volume by 3db is generally percieved as a noticeable increase in volume.