Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie learning modes!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RhythmBassist01, Aug 31, 2005.

1. RhythmBassist01

RhythmBassist01

Aug 31, 2005
    hi, I'm new at talkbass and was wanting to ask some questions about modes. I've done all the reading in the stickes and other threads, but what I want to know is, how are modes constructed, and what are they used for?

Thank you for replys.

2. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    Modes are scales.
    Think of the C major scale -- the white keys on the piano from C to C. That particular order of whole steps and half steps is the Ionian mode. Now go D to D (still all white keys); that's the Dorian mode. E to E is the Phrygian mode, F to F is the Lydian mode, G to G is the Mixolydian mode, A to A is the Aeolian mode, and B to B is the Lochrian mode.

Important: Each of these whole step and half step orders can start on any note, so, for example, you can have C Dorian, the notes of which would be C D Eb F G A Bb C.

The crucial thing is that each mode (in any key) has a particular color or mood.

Examples of applications:
    If you were playing walking bass in a simple blues tune, you could play Mixolydian modes for each of the chords-- the I, IV and V chords. So, in this example, a blues in C would employ the C Mixolydian, F Mixolydian and G Mixolydian modes.
    C Mixolydian: C D E F G A Bb C
    F Mixolydian: F G A Bb C D Eb F
    G Mixolydian: G A B C D E F G
    In jazz, you have examples of tunes written around modes. A classic example is "So What" by Miles Davis. This consists of 16 bars of D Dorian, 8 of Eb Dorian, then another 8 of D Dorian. So it's just one scale being moved up and down.

No time for me to elaborate any more... gotta go right now... anyone else?