Newbie looking for opinions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tkcatch, Dec 30, 2005.

1. Tkcatch

Dec 30, 2005
    Hey I'm just getting started, looking for an opinion on getting my first guitar. I'm gonna be playing pop-punk, inspiration basically Green Day. Looking to spend under $400. I looked at the Squier MB-4 Skull and Crossbones Electric Bass and liked it, but not really sure if anybody has used it with complaints, or if they recommend something else. Let me know.
  2. A Precision style is probably best for what you are wanting to play. THe Squire is a pretty good product... and then there is always the Essex basses that aren't too bad for the money.
  3. if you're gonna get a squier, DONT get the affinity series. but i really think you should save up to $400 and get a TBC
  4. AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    If you fill out your profile, it helps us help you. You don't need to hide from us. :)
    Pesonally, I'd stay away from the "Skull and Crossbones" and stay more traditional. To me that's kinda like the BC Rich Warlocks, you kinda pigeonhole yourslef.
    A P bass would be good, like he recomended. A lot of people here love the SX P Bass by Rondo. It's supposed to be real good quality for the same price range.

Oh, and one more thing, this is a bass web site so your looking for a bass, not a guitar. :)
    Don't be offended, I play both.
  5. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

I will say that this time last year, I was in almost the exact same position as you are. Same budget, same questions. I would suggest that you do what I did ... I bought a Mexican Fender Jazz. (A Mexican Precision would fill the bill equally well, depending on what sound you like.)

Since then, I have bought/sold a number of basses and have settled into a collection that I feel really comfortable with AND I no longer have that first Fender.