Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie on Catus Firmus

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by RhythmBassist01, Aug 31, 2005.

1. RhythmBassist01

RhythmBassist01

Aug 31, 2005
    hi, newbie here.

What is Cantus Firmus? And how do you use it?

Thank you replys.

2. Charles Shores

Charles Shores Commercial User

Jul 26, 2005
    Charlotte, NC
    Owner: Guitar Barre
  3. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    I studied theory in college but I probably spent more time studying buttus firmus when I should have been paying more attention to the music :D

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Oxford Dictionary of Music :

Cantus Firmus (Lat.) Fixed Song.

A melody usually taken from plainsong, used by composers in 14-17C as the basis of a polyphonic composition and against which other tunes are set in counterpoint.

So...it's basically "ornamenting" an existing liturgical tune to create a new polyphonic piece, using counterpoint - this was when all music was vocal, sacred and usually just a single melody line.

Polyphony was an amazing novelty then! ;)

5. RhythmBassist01

RhythmBassist01

Aug 31, 2005
    Thank you.

That sounds like what I'm looking for. Just learning Counterpoint you see.

excuse my spelling - Cantus Firmus.

6. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    buttus firmus...

7. RhythmBassist01

RhythmBassist01

Aug 31, 2005
    And that is why I'm at the wrong website.

8. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    It's just that while learning theory based on the Renaissance and Baroque eras is interesting it has little to do with the practical aspect of playing the bass which in my experience is what this forum is all about. I'm sure there are other sites that are better suited to your interests.