Newbie - Practice Need Help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kalo, Jul 29, 2003.

1. kalo

Jul 29, 2003

I am new to this forum and finding awesome...I have been playing bass for 6 months. I recently start taking lesson!!! I have picked the bass up extermley quick..I LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!! I was wondering if someone can give me some advise on how to practice efficently....Here is what I do:

Warm up with Scale exercises Major, and Minor,and Blues scales, as well as Major, Minor, 7th chord arpeggio.

Sight Read (learning how)

Working on playing songs by ear

Sighting reading songs, that teacher has given me.

I only have two hours a night to practice and in the mornings I practice a 1/2 hour. Can some give me some advise...I heard it said that it's not how long one practices it's the quality of practice....Thanks in Advance
  2. stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Welcome to Talkbass. I admire your enthusiasm. :)

There have been lots of threads previously on practice routines and such. Check this out:

As I always say, you need to find a routine that works for you. You have to figure out what you need to get done within the time you have to practice; and make sure you're benefitting from it.

Good luck. :)
  3. kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    THANKS Stephanie!!! Nice to talk to a female bass player...I am one myself....Who are your influences? I would someday like to work professionally....My influences are flea, jaco, p-nut, victor wooten.....I just love playing my bass alot!!!!! I will look on the post you suggested!!!
  4. efcleff

Jan 20, 2003
    sounds to me like you're doing just fine. Remember to practice your mechanics also. Things like fretting, finger dexterity, sounding the note properly, muting, etc. One thing I like to do is what I call 1-2, 1-3, 1-4, 2-3, 2-4, 3-4 excercises. Basically, your fretting hand fingers are numbered 1-4 (index=1,middle=2,ring=3,pinky=4)