1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie Question; LH thumb position

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MarkM13, Apr 11, 2015.

1. MarkM13

MarkM13

Mar 29, 2015
    CT - USA
    Greetings,

Thank you to all that responded to my last thread, "
    RH technique; complete Newbe question..."

My next question is the thumb position for the LH. I've read that it should be opposite the finger 2. However, at the same time, many folks caution against too much tension in the LH. My issue is I have smallish hands. When the thumb is in this position it causes considerable strain on the hand. If the thumb is slightly behind finger 1 it allows me to comfortably reach down the fretboard with the fingers. Videos I've been watching show the LH position as suggested (thumb opposing finger 2) but the instructors have longer fingers than I. Thoughts?

Thanks,
    Mark

2. Hey there,

You'll probably get a lot of variations as answers to this question, so here's my .02...

Generally, I keep my left thumb on the back of the neck, ever-so-slightly above the centerline, and generally opposite either of my first two fingers.

The reason I say "generally opposite of my first two fingers" is that, depending on the phrase I'm playing at the moment, the thumb position is best left to a relative location, not a rigid one. Depending on the left hand fingers' need to stretch to the next note(s), either ahead of or behind the thumb, I very well may place the thumb in a variety of different places, to provide a sense of anchoring for where I need to go next.

I'm always trying to think ahead to where I will need to be next, so that shifting up and down the neck happens fluidly, and in-time. If I concentrated on the exact placement of the thumb at all times, I'd probably get mentally paralyzed from that alone. :D

All the best,

Shane

TheCrimsonKing likes this.