newbie questions about GK 700RB2

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by peter G, Jun 22, 2005.

1. peter G

peter G

Sep 28, 2004
    ohio's northcoast
    Why does the GK 700 have 2 speaker outputs (per style) does it matter which I use for 8 ohm? And do I really have to use GK cabs to use the bi-amp tweeter control or will the four wire speakon work with other brand cabs with tweeter?

Please forgive me if these questions sound stupid, I'm just a tech-challenged old guy who decided to buy more amp than he can handle in search of better tone thanks peter.

2. it has two 1/4" speaker outs so you can hook up two, 8 ohm cabs to it. the speakon outs are for the bi-amp function (for the horn i believe). from what i have heard, you do need GK cabs to make use of the bi-amp mode.

3. Fred312b

Fred312b What if I want to play jazz precisely? Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2002
    Chicago, IL
    it doesn't matter which jack you plug into with one 8 ohm cab, but don't use the 4 conductor speakon cables with non-gk cabs- that would be bad. you CAN use 2 conductor ones with the 700rb and non-gk cabs and be fine though... i'm sure daniel elliot will come by and give you technical answers soon...

4. If you wanted to use the horn bi-amp feature, you would need to use a GK cabinet or modify your other cabinet. We included a pair of Speakon and a pair of 1/4" jacks so that if you want to run two 8 ohm cabinets, you have the option to use either/or.

5. shaolinwhat

shaolinwhat

Jun 5, 2005
    Ohio
    i have been using the 700rbII with an ampeg 8x10, with the one speakon cable that comes with the amp, for about a year now with no problems.

6. peter G

peter G

Sep 28, 2004
    ohio's northcoast
    Ok thanks folks, if you run an 8ohm out each 1/4” jack, is it still only 8 ohm? If I want to get down to 4ohm I could run two 8ohm cabs in series plugged into 1 jack?