Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

newbie questions about GK 700RB2

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by peter G, Jun 22, 2005.

1. peter G

peter G

Sep 28, 2004
    ohio's northcoast
    Why does the GK 700 have 2 speaker outputs (per style) does it matter which I use for 8 ohm? And do I really have to use GK cabs to use the bi-amp tweeter control or will the four wire speakon work with other brand cabs with tweeter?

Please forgive me if these questions sound stupid, I'm just a tech-challenged old guy who decided to buy more amp than he can handle in search of better tone thanks peter.

2. it has two 1/4" speaker outs so you can hook up two, 8 ohm cabs to it. the speakon outs are for the bi-amp function (for the horn i believe). from what i have heard, you do need GK cabs to make use of the bi-amp mode.

3. Fred312b

Fred312b What if I want to play jazz precisely? Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2002
    Chicago, IL
    it doesn't matter which jack you plug into with one 8 ohm cab, but don't use the 4 conductor speakon cables with non-gk cabs- that would be bad. you CAN use 2 conductor ones with the 700rb and non-gk cabs and be fine though... i'm sure daniel elliot will come by and give you technical answers soon...

4. If you wanted to use the horn bi-amp feature, you would need to use a GK cabinet or modify your other cabinet. We included a pair of Speakon and a pair of 1/4" jacks so that if you want to run two 8 ohm cabinets, you have the option to use either/or.

5. shaolinwhat

shaolinwhat

Jun 5, 2005
    Ohio
    i have been using the 700rbII with an ampeg 8x10, with the one speakon cable that comes with the amp, for about a year now with no problems.

6. peter G

peter G

Sep 28, 2004
    ohio's northcoast