newbie questions

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by charmicarmicat, Aug 22, 2005.

1. so what's it gonna be? i need some advice here, folks. i'm a newbie to the upright bass and believe me, when i say newbie, i mean NEWBIE. anyways, i've done tons of reading in the newbie part of this forum and i still have questions.
    many of you advise to try as many basses as you can. i have to be honest and tell you that this doesn't help at all:) even though i played (and still do) electric bass (heavy metal a la sabbath but tuned down and played much slower) for twenty years, you would think that i could tell a good instrument from a not so good one. well, trying a good student upright (2k range) and a not so good one (the infamous ccb) doesn't seem to be that different to me as i have never played an upright in my life. so really, they all feel pretty much the same. on top of that i want the bow to be my main focus (not that i won't play pizz, but the bowed sound is what "moves" me) and since i have never bowed in my life... you get the idea: the sound i would get from a 200 year old euro carved bass would probably be the same as the sound i get from a fresh off the assembly line ccb.