Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie ? - Replacement pickups/tuners for Fender Mex. P-Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jbroses, Oct 27, 2003.

1. jbroses

jbroses

Sep 26, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I've been playing bass for 10 years, but only recently got serious about it. I got a '91 Fender Mexican P-Bass that's in pretty good shape. I'm interested in replacing the pickups, tuning pegs and possibly electronics to improve the quality. I found a TON of stuff on ebay, not sure what to get. I play indie-pop-rock kind of music, heavy at times.

My main questions:

1) What kind of pickups are good in the $50-$100 range (used, mabye via ebay).
    2) What kind of tuners work as replacements? I've heard they have different diameters, and you might be out of luck if you get the wrong kind.
    3) Is it worth replacing the electronics (tone & volume knobs)?

Thanks in advance...

2. Ívar Þórólfsson

Ívar Þórólfsson Mmmmmm... Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2001
    Kopavogur, Iceland
    Hi there!

I hope you don´t find this rude but this question has been answered many times before here.

Just use the search function. By using the search and typing in the words: precision pickups
    I got seven pages of results in the Pickup forum alone.

Search = Good! :)

3. jbroses

jbroses

Sep 26, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Unfortunately, I find those posts haven't answered my question after looking through them for an hour. Too complex, and those seven pages of posts have very little content on the cost/availability of pickups. I'm just hoping someone can give me a little bit of advice for someone who doesn't know a whole lot about this stuff, but needs a place to start. Thanks!

4. Philthy

Philthy Supporting Member

Jun 12, 2001
    Wallington, NJ