Newbie TalkBass Observations... 6 months in

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by BadSanta1281, Jul 6, 2019.

1. Hey TB.

Newbie bass student here at almost 60 years old. Finding this place has slowed my progress dramatically because all I do is read about basses, look at pictures of basses, GAS for new gear and it's all your fault. Well, maybe partly my fault. Who has time to practice when there's all these threads to read?

I've been hanging around here for about six months now and here's a few things that I have noticed.

* Bass players have a sense of humor. Guitar forums aren't as entertaining as this place. Guitar players think they're funny. Bass players are funny.

* TB members are a very helpful bunch. Advice is just a question away here. Usually multiple opinions to point you in different directions.

* TB members will post pictures of their (music related) gear at any opportunity... even if they've posted those pictures before.

* Some of y'all are hoarders. Holy Moly! I get the GAS but some of you have more gear than you'll ever use. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

* Some of you have a need to modify a perfectly good bass for no good reason.

* You can play the same music with a $59 eBay special that you can with a $15k boutique bass. That's really a beautiful thing if you think about it.

* Lastly... I still don't get the carrot thing. But I think most of you don't get it either.

Now back to your regularly scheduled programming...

Last edited: Jul 6, 2019
  2. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    Patience, Padawan.

6 mos is far too soon to be inducted into the inner circle of the carrot.

ak56, S-Bigbottom, pcake and 7 others like this.
  3. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    More Mel Bay, less eBay....

catcauphonic, grinx, ak56 and 6 others like this.
  4. My feelings are hurt. You don't carrot all about me.

5. That carrot remark just Bugs me....