1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie technique - anchor or floating thumb

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by futbol1097, Mar 3, 2008.

1. futbol1097

futbol1097

Nov 21, 2006
    I'm a bass newbie and wanted some advice on technique. I am mostly working on punk stuff right now - Rancid, The Clash, Green Day. I would like to get into some reggae down the road. Up to now I've been anchoring my thumb on the pickup and just using index and middle. It's going alright but I'm wondering if I should start trying the moveable thumb technique? Given my music preference for faster music w/ lots of bass notes, do you guys have recommendations?
    I feel like now is the best time to change techniques since I'm a beginner - it could be harder to change once I've done it for 10 years.

Thanks,
    R

2. Dr Illing

Dr Illing

Feb 4, 2008
    San Francisco
  3. futbol1097

futbol1097

Nov 21, 2006
    Thanks. Are there any online resources that teach the floating thumb technique? (as opposed to the moving anchor)

4. Dr Illing

Dr Illing

Feb 4, 2008
    San Francisco
    Check out the above thread that I linked. Read the whole thing, especially the stuff posted by SpinDizzy. Also, you'll find some links in that thread that will direct you to youtube videos of people explaining how to do it. Just read it.

I have to say I played for about 2 years with anchored thumb technique, and I switched to floating thumb. I really think it's improved my playing. I think it's great that you're trying to learn correct technique to begin with. I'm sure it'll yield success for you.

Good luck.

5. afinalfantasy

afinalfantasy Banned

Jan 11, 2006
    I sometimes move my thumb around for faster parts, but it's entirely up to you how you play. There is no correct style, just some styles that may result in injury from how your hand is placed.

6. +1...