Newbie to effects - general info?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Boltboy, Dec 6, 2003.

1. Boltboy

Dec 6, 2003
    Hey, im a newbie to both bass guitar and effects. That being said, I'm not exactly in a RUSH to jump into effects before I learn the bass, but b/c I'm really into changing/distorting sounds in different ways (played around a lot with this stuff on the computer) it is something I wouldnt mind having just to fool around with as im learning.

- First off, are there any general info. sites that will explain what the diff. types of effects do and what kind of sound I can expect to get out of them?

- Secondly, what is a good "all in one" type of effects pedal? I'm not looking for anything specifically, but there are a few effects I have heard that I did enjoy the sound of. Namely the original crybaby wah. If I have to buy only one pedal though, what would have the most options for me to fool around with =)

Thanks for the info. Again, I realize this is something I shouldnt focus on at the start - but let a guy enjoy spending some $$$ while hes got it :D
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    If you have to buy only one pedal, you MIGHT want to buy a mutli efx pedal. The only problem is that since they are many effects in one, they arent as hgigh quality as individual pedals. But for you, i think they would be alright. Look at Zoom pedals, They are great for the price.
  3. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Boss has made some decent multi-effects pedals. But before you go off spending a couple of hundred dollars, what are you looking for? Listen to songs with bass sounds you like, and go from there.

I find that other than a little compression, EQ, and maybe some chorus (occasionally only), effects only muddy up your sound.
  4. Raman

Feb 19, 2003
    Montreal, Qc

Really, I've never had a pedal that sucked as much as the Zoom 506.
    What a waste of $$$.