Newbie with a couple questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jackaroe, May 12, 2002.

1. jackaroe

May 12, 2002
    Hey all, i new around here and have a few questions. I've been playing for about 5 months, and think its time to upgrade from my extreme cheapo, Hondo 4string and Titan Amp :) Well i was wondering what you guys thought about making the jump to a 5string, and some good models (between 200-400). Also some good 4 strings in the same range. thanx for the help!
  2. Most of the 5ers you are gonna find are in the 400 price range. My first 5er was a Yamaha BBG5A, for $350 retail. I think the model was discontinued, though.

For a little more you could get an MTD Kingston 5, they go for about $450, IIRC. That might be one of the best 5 strings under $1K.

You could get a Mexican Fender 4 string in that price.

There is quite a lot in your price range. You might want to check out and see what basses are in your price range, then play them at your local store.
  3. jackaroe

May 12, 2002
    does anyone have any Pros/Cons of a 4string to a 5string? Is it a good idea to switch early on?
  4. iv been playin like 10 months and thinkin bout gttin a 5 string just to do covers and stuff like that ill still mostly use my 4 string though. i think u shouls wait just a little more to get a 5 string. u shaid u have only been playin 5 months. u must not have mastered the 4 string yet.
  5. jackaroe

May 12, 2002
    definetly not, but i'm upgrading to a much better bass and was deciding if i should make the jump now?
  6. If you're in with the broke bunch of us, and you only get to upgrade gear maybe once a year or less, then, yes, you should make the jump now. But definitely go out and try 5 stringers and find the one you like best. Make sure you actually do want a 5. (I was kinda like, oh yeah, the more strings the better, but then I decided that I just enjoy the 4 more)
  7. Skorzen

Mar 15, 2002
    Springfield MA