1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

newbie with the usual questions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bonehead, May 4, 2006.

1. bonehead

bonehead

May 4, 2006
    UK
    Hi all

I've decided I'd like to give the bass a try ... :eek:

I'm really a pianist, but I've always listened to Stanley Clarke, Pastorious etc and nurtured ideas producing of smooth bass fireworks.

I'm now going to give it a shot. :help:

So

I find Warwicks are rather beautiful looking things but I don't want to shell out loadsa wonga when I may not get very far.
    That said, I don't want to buy some lump that I never want to pick up. :rollno:

Are there a few models which are recognised as a good beginner bass? One that will keep me going until I finally can justify splashing out on a semi-custom fretless 5-string Warwick? :bassist:

I have played the piano all my life, and have friends and family who are musicians so I am familiar with what features are generally desirable/undesirable in instruments.

All info/advice appreciated.

TIA

B

2. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    I think a Fender Jazz is always a good place to start. It all depends on what style you want to play and what budget you have.

Oh, first step to playing bass is writing Jaco's name correctly ;)

3. bonehead

bonehead

May 4, 2006
    UK
    A noble instrument to be sure, but not exactly cheap! The Curbow range looks attractive, BWTHDIK

Grovelling apologies for the scr3w-up with the de-fretted Fender-wielding Mr. Pastorius!

B

4. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Where are you from btw? Best to fill in your profile, that way we can better adjust our answers to your specific needs ;)

5. bonehead

bonehead

May 4, 2006
    UK
    sorry! UK, near London

6. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))