Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Next step up recomendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Logans Dad, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Logans Dad

Logans Dad

Dec 9, 2002
    A couple years ago, I got this crazy idea to buy a bass at the age of 37. I didn't want to waste a bunch of money if it turned out that I either didn't like playing, or couldn't learn, so I bought a Squier MB-4 and the EMedia beginner bass computer study program. It's the only bass I've ever played, and the only instruction I've ever had.

A couple months ago, I started playing with our worship team at church and I'm loving it. I'm still not very good . . . mainly just playing chord roots with a small walk up/down now and then, but being pushed to practice for every weekend has really helped me improve much faster.

I'm starting to feel like it's time for an upgrade in my bass. Of course I want to become a better player, but I have no desire to expand my public playing beyond contemporary praise music on Sunday mornings and at home for my own enjoyment. I'm not even sure how to describe the tone I'm looking for unless it's just pure, deep (warm?) bass with good sustain.

So, I'm looking for recomendations for something with a nice clean, deep tone, "easy to play", and good sustain. As far as looks, I prefer a natural wood body with no pick guard.

In lurking here for a while, I've been hearing that Lakland's are pretty nice and a 44-01 at just under $700 is probably the maximum I could justify to spend right now. I also think the Ibanez 500 with the mahogany body looks really nice too but it seems Ibanez is both loved and hated here. I do want to buy new rather than used. Also, if it makes a difference, I'm playing through a Crate BX100 amp.