1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Nickel Allergy

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Dantreige, Oct 21, 2010.

1. Dantreige

Dantreige

Oct 22, 2009
    Wisconsin
    I was wondering if anyone other then myself has an allergy to nickel and is forced into using stainless steel strings?

I had been playing for five years (now at twenty+) before I realized what was causing my hands to breakout in a nasty dermititis. My fingers iched like mad and often would crack and bleed. I had taken a six month break from playing when I realized that it was my bass strings that were causing the problems. Luckily, I found some stainless steel strings and they seamed to solve the problem.

I can't play around with too many basses at the music store for this reason. Most seam to be strung with cheap nickel rounds. Even playing my friends guitar for short periods will give me a rash the next day. (Just annoying iching, not full blown bleeding.)

It has made string choices a real pain in the butt.

I am looking for a set of flats right now that I can use. I was thinking Chromes, but I need to research if there is any nickel in those.

Anyone else has this problem?

2. BullHorn

BullHorn

Nov 23, 2006
    Israel
    I have the same problem and the same problem within your problem. I'm also looking for nickel-free flats. There are nylons, I heard... Not sure...

What I do know is that chrome is rarely an allergen, but some people are allergic to chrome salts which shouldn't affect you with chrome-nickel-free strings.

I would also like to know if strings like D'Addrio Flatwound Chromes have any nickel in them.

3. jgroh

jgroh

Sep 14, 2007
    Pennsylvania