1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Nickel on Steel?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by brutal bassist, Apr 19, 2009.

1. im looking at the Rotosound nickel on steel strings. what are the advantages/disadvantages to these, and why are they about 5 bucks cheaper than other roto strings?

2. metallibass95

metallibass95

Apr 7, 2009
    I am wondering the same thing. I have no experience with nickel on steel but I was thinking about trying a Rotosound set of them and I really want to know how they are in comparison to both nickel and steel strings. I know that Cliff Burton and Geddy Lee uses the nickel on steel Rotosounds I would really like some imput from someone with a little experience on nickel on steel rotosounds.

3. p-bass

p-bass Guest

Feb 17, 2008
    "Nickel on Steel"(as you put it )= Nickel Plated Steel. D'addario XL Nickelwound,Fender 7250's,Ernie Ball Nickel Roundwound,Dunlop Nickel Plated and GHS Boomers are all Nickel Plated Steel Strings. Cliff Burton and Geddy Lee used/use Rotosound Steel Strings.

4. p-bass

p-bass Guest

Feb 17, 2008
    WRONG !

5. omg, not what im asking, look at my original post please and thanks

6. Meatrus

Meatrus

Apr 5, 2009
    England
    Lmao! I think you better check your sources mate. Geddy is famous for his rotosound steel sound. Also Chris Squier actually got in trouble with Rickenbacker for using steels, as all his fans copied him, then Rickenbacker had a stack of basses in for repair under guarantee as they used to make their fret wire out of soft stuff and roto steels are fairly rough. It was in Bassplayer a few months back.

I think your confusement could be down to the fact that rotosound steel swing 66 make a Nickel version of the same string, and dont call them a different name just 66 swing Nickel.