NickTheBassist's New Amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TaySte_2000, Oct 29, 2004.

1. TaySte_2000

Jun 23, 2001
    Manchester, UK
    Endorsing Artist: Mojohand, Subdecay, Overwater, Matamp
    Ok so most of you read the thread that ended up being closed have no idea why it was closed but it was so hey here's an update.

Now I was dreading this meeting, well I've been speaking to Toasted for about 8 months and he's a great guy and very helpful so it was a good chance to meet him. Now Nick personally I've always concidered a bit of a (fill in the blank) but he turned up was nice and polite and brought two basses with him (As well as his Dad).

We went into Academy of Sound in Manchester where the sales assistant really really annoyed me, telling Nick that the Hartke 2000 had two preamps so you could effectivley get twice the volume :eek: :eek: :eek: good god man are you on crack I nearly screamed out. So after we got the half wit to leave us alone after 30minutes yes thats right 30minutes some people just don't take a hint. Nick brought out his lovely Limited Edition Warwick Bolt On Thumb yes people he does actually have it I was surprised as well.

Loverly bass well as thumb's go I'm more of a Ric man my self but it is a very beautiful bass sounds great.

So now I'm expecting to hear erm well not the greatest bass player, but wow Nick can play no he's not amazing, no he ain't a chops monster but he's pretty damn good at least as good as I was when I'd been playing four years. SO surprises all round.

So to the amps, we started off with a Hartke HA2000 into an 115xl and it sounded killer to all of us abit quiet but still pretty good growl with the warwick.

Next we moved on to a s/h roland db700 erm now this just plain sucked it was really really hissy, lacked bass response and wasn't as loud as the hartke.