1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

NO AMP rig (noob)!! What sould I use?!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Guish, Aug 24, 2012.

1. Guish

Guish Supporting Member

Heyy TBers!!

Here's the thing! I own a simple rig! SVT VR, in a SVT 410 HLF with my Spector Rebop DLX! I'm really happy with it! (even though I'm still looking for a new cab) We are playing all kinds of rock! But mostly hard rock for our own music!

Now! My problem is! I need a rig that requires no amp at all! (for some gigs we got lately) But I don't have any clue where to start! I guess I need a good DI, a good pre-amp.. good pedals maybe? I'm really new with this stuff! So I'd like to have some ideas of where to start with all this! Like I said, I'm looking for a hard rock sound! Something that got balls like my SVT VR has!

Any suggestions?! Thanx a lot!!

(sorry for my english) ;)

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2007
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    The simplest way is just to plug right into a mixer channel. It's not mandatory to use a DI if you are not using an amp.

3. Guish

Guish Supporting Member

Always though a DI was something necessary...! Anyway, I'm looking for the stuff between my amp and the mixer that would get me to the sound I want! Cause I'm pretty sure my bass in the mixer with nothing won't make the job!

4. dincz

dincz

Sep 25, 2010
    Czech Republic
    Your English is absolutely fine but the exclamation marks could get irritating .... :)

Direct into a mixer could be OK but mic and line inputs are lower impedance than instrument inputs. This will degrade the sound of a passive bass. If the mixer has instrument inputs then no problem.

5. João Bourgard

João Bourgard

Jan 21, 2010
    some pedals and a preamp should do it...