No coutry means NO COUNTRY!

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by guy n. cognito, Mar 10, 2006.

1. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Ok, here's the back story. I started playing bass again recently after a hiatus of several years. I would really like to find a band to play with, so I put an ad in craigslist. I say, very clearly in my ad:

-I have a full time job, so I am not looking to "make it."
    -Looking for adults to play with
    -I am not interested in playing country.

The last one is fairly important. I live outside of Nashville, so most of the ads you see are for country bands or country singers looking for bands. Most claim to "have connections" and want to "make it." Because I don't like country, I wanted to make that perfectly clear upfront.

So far, I have gotten 4 responses, which is pretty good for a weeks time. However, one of those was a "songwriter" looking for someone to help record his demo (for free) and two others were for COUNTRY BANDS. One of the two called and told me they were a mix of rock, blues and a little country. I made it clear that I wasn't interested in country, and he agreed that they would do very little country. They are a cover band, so I asked him to send me a song list. The list had 10 songs by 7 different artists, including:

George Strait
    Garth Brooks
    Kenney Chesney
    John Anderson
    Jimmy Currington

I had to go listen to these on iTunes, because I wasn't familar with any except Garth. These artist are about as country as you can get. Good, old fashion country.

Has anyone else had this experience in seeking a band? Am I just asking for it with the craigslist ad?
  2. Tired_Thumb

Tired_Thumb Guest