Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

No Direction

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Jpat, Mar 13, 2005.

1. Jpat

Jpat

Mar 13, 2005
    Leonardville Kansas
    I've been playing bass for almost 18 years. I started off as a Heavy Metal freak in the 80's playing things like Metallica. I lost interest in those things because to me it's not chalenging enough for me. I have a strong passion to play the bass still, but I have no real direction. What would you suggest?

2. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    Jpat,

I used to be a huge metal fan in the 80's too. I played a lot of bass at that time, but I wasn't really serious about my musicianship. I learned tunes from tabs in magazines or books that I bought. I also picked some things up from my guitar friends (since a lot of the bass parts doubled the guitar parts).

Eventually, I began to take musicianship more seriously. I went to college and I got a music education degree. I have been teaching public school orchestra for 6 years now. The stuff I learned in school was 99.9% classical. Now, I'm spending most of my time learning jazz theory and improvisation. It's a whole different world. There are no notes on the page for me to cling to. It almost feels like starting over.

Listen to as many different styles of music as you can. I know that buying music you may not like can get expensive, so hit your local library system. You may be suprised at what they have in their collection. It's always refreshing to get excited about music you've never heard before, or music you never thought you would like in a million years.

I should have mentioned this first; but, find a good teacher in your area. A good teacher can make all the difference in the world. Good luck on your new musical path.

Joe

3. Jpat

Jpat

Mar 13, 2005
    Leonardville Kansas