No More Slapping for me!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Andre_gt7, Apr 4, 2005.

1. Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    After Breaking 2 G strings in 2 2 different basses....i have officially stopped slapping :( anyone know what i might be doing wrong? Im 15 years old, i have been playing for 4 years.... and Bass strings are freaking expensive :help:

Edit: BTW...this has never happened before
  2. Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    i believe its my technique...since it was on two different basses :-help
  3. Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    i've been taking teacher jus didnt get into think its the way im hooking my finger under the "G"
  4. Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY
    Yup, it's your technique. And you live in Atlanta! There's bound to be someone who will teach you slapping. Just look around. It's not something that I particularly recommend trying on your own without instruction.
  5. Nadav

Nov 13, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Oh, I didn't even notice you lived in Atlanta.
    Where do you take lessons?
    If you want a new teacher that can slap, check out Russ Rodgers ( I've been with him for around three months and he's a great teacher (and player).
  6. Andre_gt7

Jan 4, 2005
    Atlanta - GA
    I take Lessons at Jenning's...and some lessons on the side with a bass player friend...
  7. EricTheEZ1

Nov 23, 2004
    Clawson, MI
    It's most likely your technique/strings. Every once and a while I get into some really hard slapping and I get a little over zealous with the popping side. I use DR Hi-Beams at .50-1.10 and they are more than strong enough to handle the snapping. I wouldn't trust light guage strings to hold up as well, though.

8. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products