1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

No ports = blown speakers?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The Gaz, Sep 24, 2008.

1. The Gaz

The Gaz

Sep 24, 2008
    just curious if a non-ported cab (i.e. 4x10, 2x15) is more likely to blow a speaker at high volumes with a lot of low frequencies being pushed through it. i presupposed that it might. any clue?

2. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Hmm, not sure, but there are some cab gurus here that might know!

billfitzmaurice should be able to chime in!

3. I'm no techie, but ports certainly ease up on the PRESSURE, so, I go for ported cabs. Nothing's blown yet, but that's not exactly proof, just correlation.

4. The Gaz

The Gaz

Sep 24, 2008
    makes sense. like farting without an a**hole?

5. Yes, you're the techie, although proctologically inclined: Imagine pressure accumulating up front (speaker) with no posterior relief, yes, colon w/spinchter in a sense.

Gaz, you are a genius!

6. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Sealed cabs enjoy a linear, predictable speaker cone movement. There’s 2 ways to increase movement of the cone. One is to simply turn up the volume. The more power you feed it, the further the speaker cone will move. No surprises there. The other way is to turn up the Bass EQ.

A ported cab works very differently. It has distinct areas where speaker cone movement increases. The smaller hump occurs slightly higher than the cabs tuning frequency and is usually well within x-max. Therefore this hump is of little significance.

As we decrease frequency, speaker movement firstly reduces as we approach the cabinet’s tuning frequency. This is because the port starts to take over. Indeed at the tuning frequency (Fb), an audio signal without harmonics (ie a sine wave) results in speaker movement being zero. The port takes the entire load.