Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

No radius - flat fingerboard - for a 7 strings ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JP Basses, Aug 9, 2003.

1. JP Basses

JP Basses

Mar 22, 2002
    Paris FRANCE
    Hi all,

I'm currently in the planning stages for Jojobass new bass, a headless Zia 7 strings bass

(Jojobass also owns Plums bass #24052003 )

We were talking abut fingerboard radius today and we both came ouy with the idea of using a flat fingerboard. I studied classical guitar for 10 years so I love flat boards and now how fast they can be. I just can't see a 7 stings board wih my usual 16" radius. A 20" or more radius would be almost flat and add nothing in payability IMO.

What radius do your 7+ basses have??

Peace,
    JP

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
  3. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    JP - I started out as a classical guitarist as well, and love flatter radius boards.

I've played Trip's 8, and it was amazingly comfortable and fast. I think you should go for the flatter board! :D

4. On wide necks I defintely prefer the board as flat as I can get it. That usually means somewhere in the 18-20" range, though--I don't know how much different a board that's actually flat would feel. If Jerome is into the idea, though, it makes sense to give it a shot. Hopefully jt, Stew, boogiebass and some of the other 7-8 string players will be able to give some more hands-on experience and recommendations.

Mike

5. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut