No signal unless the input is plugged halfway in?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Naggon, Dec 18, 2021.

1. Naggon

Naggon

Nov 8, 2006
    Vancouver, BC
    Hey guys,
    This is a question about my guitar, but I'm not on any guitar forums and I think some of you may be able to help.

I switched out the pickups in my Les Paul. Everything seems to be wired up correctly (I'm not a pro, but I've done this a few times) but I'm getting no signal, EXCEPT when the input jack is plugged halfway in. Then it works fine!

I've checked the connections on the input jack itself, and they're solid. None of the other connections seem loose or weird. The only difference is that the guitar originally had a pickup with 2 leads, and I replaced it with a newer one with 5.

Both pickups are now wired: green & ground to the top of the volume pot, red & white taped off together, black connected to the pole on the pot.

Originally, the old pickup with 2 leads was wired: black to the top of the volume pot, white to the pole on the same pot. I didn't change anything else.

Any advice is very much appreciated! I don't know anything about electronics, so I'm just working by trying to copy schematics that work.

2. You didn't accidentally bend the long arm on the jack that touches the tip did you?

3. Naggon

Naggon

Nov 8, 2006
    Vancouver, BC
    Nope its for sure connecting at the jack. I only took it out to check after it already wasn't working.

4. Naggon

Naggon

Nov 8, 2006
    Vancouver, BC
  5. I meant if it is bent in the middle it would connect but at a lower point as the plug is inserted into the jack

6. Naggon

Naggon

Nov 8, 2006
    Vancouver, BC
    Ahh, gotcha. Pretty darn sure it's fine though! Looks perfect when I take it out.

7. Naggon

Naggon

Nov 8, 2006
    Vancouver, BC
  8. HardNHeavy

HardNHeavy

Apr 17, 2014
    PA
    mono plug?.....are the wires disconnected inside the jack if you unscrew it.....weird

9. devnulljp

devnulljp

Oct 13, 2009