1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

No teacher, but I want a strict plan

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mahumadi, Apr 13, 2010.

1. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned

Apr 19, 2009
    North Eastern PA
    I just joined a rock band that gigs and is going to the studio. The thing is that I have:

a) never been in a band
    b) never gigged
    c) never recorded

I have been playing for 2 years and had instruction for a 2 months. I know the major scale and how to construct chords from it. I know the theory behind the circle of fifths, but do not have it memorized. My ear is pretty bad and I am not that great at matching pitches with my voice. I pick with 3 fingers alternating 1-2-3-2-1-2-3-2-1, but I have a tough time picking in order when moving to lower or higher strings.

I know most of this will get better with time playing in the band, but I want a schedule to follow when im not practicing the band material

I want to incorporate solfege, learn to read standard notation (which im sure will be the most helpful).

I remember my instructor telling me that there are only 4 (I think he said 4..) scales that anyone needs to know.

Can anyone who has the same philosophy/feeling explain which I should know? All I know is the major and the 1-2-3b-4-5-6-7b-8 one (i think its pentatonic minor?

Any suggestions?

2. The scales you need to know:
    Major
    Natural Minor (1 - 2 - b3 - 4 - 5 - b6 - b7 - 8)
    Harmonic Minor (1 - 2 - b3 - 4 - 5 - b6 - 7 - 8)
    Melodic Minor (1 - 2 - b3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - b7 - b6 - 5 - 4 - b3 - 2 - 1)*

*The scale is different ascending vs. descending.

The scales you should know (only because they can provide quick and simple lines)
    Pentantonic Minor (1 - b3 - 4 - 5 - b7 - 8)
    Pentatonic Major (1 - 2 - 3 - 5 - 6 - 8)