1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

No Treble

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Two-Spirit, Nov 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Anyone into nothing but bass?

2. Ampslut

Ampslut

May 15, 2017
    Back in the 60s when I started playing, that was the popular way for setting things up.
    Edit:. Basses came stock with flat wounds and string mutes trying to sound like an upright. Little by little the mutes went away and the strings got brighter. Now they come stock with round wounds and no mutes. Most cabs come stock with tweeters. Bass guitar has become a full range instrument. I have seen some movement towards a more vintage 60s type sound as of late.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2017
    Korladis, bobyoung53 and Two-Spirit like this.
  3. Tedward

Tedward Supporting Member

Feb 15, 2006
    southern california
    Can't beat that old school sound. All my basses have flat wounds, they get the tone I'm after. Amp is an Ampeg SVT-3Pro and two Green Boy 12/6's. The combination works great for the songs we play. I get lots of compliments on my tone. Original blend of county, rock, and blues. I was a teen ager in the sixties and those songs were the biggest influence on me.

Tedward

bobyoung53 likes this.
  4. GBBSbassist

GBBSbassist I actually play more guitar... Supporting Member

Nov 23, 2010
    Chicago
    Would you say you're.......all about that bass?

5. TC.65

TC.65

Dec 20, 2008
    Carbondale IL
    Ampeg V4BR Bass @ 1-2, Mids @ 12, Treble @ 10-11. Fender PBass with LaBella 760FL's with tone knob at 75-100% = PURE BASS/PURE BLISS!!!

6. For some songs, mainly ballads I eq out some of the high end after the fact in the studio. Just helps give the bass a smoother less aggressive vibe.

This song is an example

At shows these days bass is so sub heavy so often I tend to go for more bite and clank than i normally would in the studio.