Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Noise Reduction or Compression?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Garrett Mireles, Aug 26, 2004.

1. Hi,

My bass has been pissing me off as of late, making alot of background noise, and I AM muting the strings I don't play...so I figure'd I need either a noise reduction unit or a compression unit.

Advice? Also, I have no experience with either, do they generally beef up your tone?

2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Hi Garrett, is it noise like "hiss" or like "hum"? Or something entirely different?

3. Stephen Soto

Stephen Soto

Oct 12, 2003
    a noise gate. dbx 266xl compressor/gate, $150 brand new.

4. Just sounds like my hand rubbing against strings...which is probably what it is :D Would a noise reduc get rid of that, or am I going to have to spend hours relearning technique?

5. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Well, let's see, do you want the "right" answer or the "convenient" answer? The right answer is, technique is the answer. Any electronic device you use for that purpose is just going to be a band-aid that addresses the symptom rather than the problem. No disrespect intended. I went through about two years of similar grief when I first started playing, so if "hours" is all it takes to learn good technique, consider yourself fortunate. It took a while for me to catch on to how important quieting the strings is, between notes. Good technique will help you in that area, and it'll help you for life. It's another version of the "teach a man to fish" concept. Bet that's just what you wanted to hear, right? :)

6. McHack

McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    It IS techinique related. But, you could be exaggerating it in w/ your EQ settings.