1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Non-Gigging bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PennyroyalWe, Dec 7, 2018.

1. PennyroyalWe

PennyroyalWe

Sep 2, 2018
    Oregon
    I recently had myself a NBD, a beautifully preserved 1970-71 Matsumoku MIJ Epiphone 5102 bass (EA-260) w/OHSC, and I just love playing on this thing. It's totally different from my fretless tele-bass and modded Bronco bass that are the only other basses I have in my arsenal at the moment. It feels and sounds great, looks even better but because of what it is I'm extremely reluctant to take it to band practice, let alone gig with it, for fear of it incurring a new ding, dent, or worse. So, while I really enjoy this bass, it has me wondering if it's a tad indulgent to have a bass that I know I'll never gig with. I should disclose that I'm by no means a pro player, or particularly wealthy, I play in a few local bands playing original tunes to the usual bar crowd and house shows. I don't record particularly often, though in both bands we are currently working on recording an EP over the winter. I guess I'm wondering if anyone else has/does keep a case queen bass that you won't gig with? epi.

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

no, not really: no "case queens." i have a fretted which gets no love. i have a heavy ax i no longer take out because of its weight (but i would if i needed it). i have four which i rotate as 'regulars', or main players. i couldn't resist taking a great playing ax to a gig. but that's me.

curious: would you take the ax to the gig if you put marks on it at home? thanks.

48thStreetCustom likes this.
  3. PennyroyalWe

PennyroyalWe

Sep 2, 2018
    Oregon