Noob Bass Player Looking For A Amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pawn, Aug 14, 2005.

1. Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    Hello, I am new to playing the bass. :bassist: I'm going to get a GSR200 because of all the good reviews. But what about an amp...I have about $200 ($250 tops)to spend on an amp. I don't need to move it much. I will be playing with 1 guitar on a 35 watt amp, and a drummer. We play Rock,Punk,Some metal..System of a down Etc. What do you think would be good?
  2. CaM90

Dec 14, 2004
    You could get a Rumble 100 or $300 which will be worth the extra money. I doubt this will be a good amp but you could try a Behringer BX1200. I would though save for and buy the Rumble.
  3. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Get a used TNT115 combo. It'll serve you well until you can save for a real rig.
  4. oldfclefer

oldfclefer low ended

May 5, 2005
    Southern Ohio
    I'd recommend, starting out with limited funds, your best bet would be to look at used gear. Peavey's bang for the buck and there are a lot of other good lines, but most of all, play through whatever it is you're going to buy.
  5. i played through a peavey rage 156 (or something) 15 watt guitar amp for the first couple years of playing :D
  6. I reckon you should look for a Trace Eliot Boxer 65. Not sure how much they are (about that price I reckon). 65 watts on a bass amp equals about 30 watts-ish from a guitar amp, so you should both be about the same volume - also if you ever do any really small gigs the amp should be powerful enough, also loads of people on here swear by Trace, so it may be a good one to think about...
  7. Soulfinger

Sep 20, 2004
    Houston, TX
    Buy used. I suggest Peavey. It's what we all started on--and some of us have even gone back to.
  8. Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    Hmm..looks like buying a used peavey is the way to go....Any one else have an opinion?

Thanks for the help.
  9. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ