Noob Here: Massive Amp Overhaul

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by steers b-c, Aug 23, 2005.

1. steers b-c

steers b-c

Aug 23, 2005
    Austin, Texas
    Hey, I'm new here. Hopefully asking a question of this length isn't too obnoxious. Anyway, through some stroke of luck, I've managed to score about $2500 to be spent (total, no bending) on amplification and speaker equipment, something desperately needed given the demands I place upon gear.

I need to admit right up front that I absolutely rip through most standard gear because of all sorts of dropped tunings, noise loops, distortion, and volume. I currently have an American Standard Jazz, an Ampeg HLF 4x10, a GK 400RB, a Yorkville XS-400 H, a Bass Drive, a Line 6 DL-4, a Whammy 4, and a TU 2. I used to have an old Traynor YBA series amp, but I somehow fried it...and I actually blew out ALL the speakers on the Ampeg with some of the nutty stuff I've done, and I'm not at all happy with my tone at this point.

That said, my technical know-how is pretty limited, my experience with top notch gear practically none, and my understand of things like racks non-existant. Hence, I come to you, the knowledgable public, for assistance in what I should perhaps purchase. I know three things I want.

1) Tubes: the more, the better. I've tried hybrids, but I haven't found a balance that makes me content. That said, this cash influx is a one time deal, and I don't know that I can keep up with the type of maintainance required for a Mesa 400+ or SVT-CL despite my love of both these amps.

2) Bi-amp: looking at 1x15 or 1x18 that can handle extreme lows and loops and, if at all possible, to retain my Ampeg for the highs, if only to save cash on getting a different cab.