1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

NOOB MIDI questions - Line 6 Toneport??

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Spinal Tapper, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    Hey all! I'll try and keep this as simple as possible...

I'm a serious NOOB when it comes to recording, but I'm building my apartment studio up slowly. I've been using my Line 6 UX2 to record guitar, vocals, bass direct into Sonar 8 software. It's a great little setup and works fine for getting my ideas down. I recently got a set of Roland HD-1 V-drums, they sound find plugged in directly from the 1/8" out to the Line 6 Toneport...but I want more options...

I've found out the Roland HD-1 work great for MIDI, but I don't know the first thing about MIDI. I know I need a MIDI cable, for starters...

My question is: How DO I HOOK IT UP for MIDI!?!?

Can I get a midi cable and hook up directly to my Line 6 UX2? I don't understand how to connect the drums to my computer via MIDI cable.

Does it connect directly to the UX2, or do I have to plug the USB end of the cable directly to a USB port on my PC?

Appreciate any responses, as I googled it and can't find any info this basic...

2. You normally go midi out on the e-drums to midi in on the interface, and then interface USB PC. Unfortunately your Line 6 interface doesn't have a built in Midi interface, so you need to buy it extra.

3. DuraMorte

DuraMorte

Mar 3, 2011
    The UX2 does not have MIDI connections, meaning you will need a MIDI to USB interface.
    There are a number of products that will do the job; the Roland UM-ONE seems like a good candidate.

4. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA