Noob on pedal effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by summeralligator, Mar 12, 2018.

1. summeralligator

summeralligator

Jan 14, 2018
    Argentina
    Hi again! this time i'm writin' cause i'm a noob on pedal effects. I ain't got any so i want to know which one is essential to improve the sound for motown/blues style.

Thank you all!

2. GMC

GMC

Jan 1, 2006
    Wiltshire, UK
    P bass....cab with no tweeter....flats....maybe a simple EQ or a transparent light overdrive.

3. crguti

crguti

Feb 14, 2011
    Scandinavia
    What’s wrong with your current sound?

saabfender likes this.
  4. saabfender

saabfender Inactive

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    I'd look into a compressor.

5. summeralligator

summeralligator

Jan 14, 2018
    Argentina
    I have a Hartke HD150 Combo and i can't find the right sound, i think my room makes the sound "muddy" i mean that isn't clear, my other problem is that i can't understand graphic EQ very well.. I use jazz with flats

6. summeralligator

summeralligator

Jan 14, 2018
    Argentina
    Cab with no tweeter? Why?

7. Newbie as well - just picked up a used compressor (Boss LMB-3). Play in 200 seat room, bass gets lost or muddy very easily. Usually quieter sets, acoustic, and some drums. Playing old p-bass (peavy fury) and Acoustic bass combo. Thinking I just need compression and good eq?

8. jthisdell

jthisdell

Jun 12, 2014
    Roanoke, VA
    Compression is good but a high pass filter can be very useful. Rolls off the very low that can turn to mud

9. Thanks jthisdell - can I get similar result w quality eq?

10. jthisdell

jthisdell

Jun 12, 2014
    Roanoke, VA
    High Pass Filter (HPF) and Low Pass Filter (LPF) Mega Thread